AIR FORCE VETERAN

A place where Military Veterans with Ostomies and Diversions can discuss items of common interest.
Anyone can read. Only registered users can post.
No commercial posting allowed.

Moderator: Jimbob

Forum rules
Before posting, please read our Discussion Board Terms and Conditions and our Code of Conduct.
ostomate+99

AIR FORCE VETERAN

Post by ostomate+99 »

Hi, my name is Gary, I was referred by Jane Walker, Greater atlanta UOA. I have a ileostomy since 1999. I use the Atlanta VA for my care. I would love to communicate with other veterans. I am a Vietnam Vet I retired in 1985, after 22 yrs Hope to communicate
Mike ET

Re: AIR FORCE VETERAN

Post by Mike ET »

Hello, Air Force!

Jane Walker and I are both old timer ileostomates and ETs. Jane has me beat by a decade or so, but between us we have over a century of experiences as ostomates and ETs. How's that for history?

Incidentally, my ileostomy is compliments of the US Navy, or as I like to say: Pot luck, USN.

Welcome aboard and make sure the VA meets your needs and not the other way around. I write this because over many decades I have had to regularly reeducate the staff at the varying VA centers about meeting the unique needs of ostomates and not lumping them all into the same pouch or management routines.

Cheers,

Mike ET (USN retired)
ostomy can present an identity crisis of image and function, and require tradeoffs.
ostomate+99

Post by ostomate+99 »