Is a ileostomy reversal worth it for a 60-year old geezer?

For discussing ostomies that are intended to be temporary, and the reversal/takedown of such ostomies.
Anyone can read. Only registered users can post.
No commercial posting allowed.

Moderator: Jimbob

Forum rules
Before posting, please read our Discussion Board Terms and Conditions and our Code of Conduct.
csteven

Is a ileostomy reversal worth it for a 60-year old geezer?

Post by csteven »

I had a LAR in Dec 2018 due to rectal cancer. Now my doctor is pushing for ileostomy reversal. I thought it made sense, but after reading comments from the forum, I'm wondering if it's worth it. I don't love my bag, but I don't hate it either. I can manage with it. It scares me to think I could have an accident at any time without the bag. I'm a stand-up corporate trainer and the last thing I need to think about is whether I need to run to a toilet. Maybe as a 60-year old, it's not worth it do this op? Before my LAR and chemo/radio I was stage 3b. Now I/m stage 0. I've had my rectum removed (27cm / 10.6"). Any comments pro/con would be welcome. Just need some advice. ~ Steve
BillV

Re: Is a ileostomy reversal worth it for a 60-year old geezer?

Post by BillV »

The decision to have a reversal is a personal one. A person should keep in mind that the majority of people who have had these kinds of procedures have had good results with them and rarely visit these boards, so it is easy to think that there is a high rate of complications. The success of a reversal depends on the strength of the anal sphincter and the storage capacity of the remaining rectum. You may want to ask your surgeon if any of his patients who have had a reversal would be willing to discuss their experiences with you. Wearing a small pad to prevent soiling would be an option if you did have some leakage and, in my opinion, would be better than having a bag.