Odor control

For general discussion of ostomies and continent diversions.
Anyone can read. Only registered users can post.
No commercial posting allowed.

Moderators: Bob Webtech, Jimbob, ot dave

Forum rules
Before posting, please read our Discussion Board Terms and Conditions and our Code of Conduct.
ktimothy59

Odor control

Post by ktimothy59 »

Please let me know your best defense against odor control. Sometimes I gag myself with my smell. I do not have cDiff or diarrhea, just odor. I had a colonoscopy and everything was clear. I do use Bravo lubricant deodorant and stay away from the known foods that cause odor. I am still new to this world but am now to the point that “Flo” is keeping me homebound. Thanks for any advice.
ktimothy59

Re: Odor control

Post by ktimothy59 »

PS....forgot to say it’s a colostomy
sassie

Post by sassie »

do you use pouches with filters? if i use a non filtered pouch "Alice" stinks, with a filtered pouch i do not smell her..."colostomy as well".

P.S. I think the smell comes with that mucus if she is doing lots of that.Sometimes there is no smell and i will check and no mucus so seems its that nasty stuff that stinks so bad...
ot dave

Post by ot dave »

I haven't found anything that helps to reduce odor. For me, when I have output, I rinse the pouch out with warm water when I empty the pouch. This removes all of the output, which in turn takes any odor causing substance with it...