New Hollister product problems

For general discussion of ostomies and continent diversions.
Anyone can read. Only registered users can post.
No commercial posting allowed.

Moderators: Bob Webtech, Jimbob, ot dave

Forum rules
Before posting, please read our Discussion Board Terms and Conditions and our Code of Conduct.
Elizabeth

New Hollister product problems

Post by Elizabeth »

Hello Everyone,

I am new to this board but have had an ileostomy for 20 years. Hollister recently discontinued my favorite wafers and pouches to upgrade to a new flimsy/flexible two-piece "upgrade." the rings that snap together are separating at the bottom of the ring slightly enough to let some liquid escape! I am a teacher and I can not smell like that during the day. Is anyone else having this problem?

I used to use Hollister premier convex with floating flange wafer 8733, with the 8812 pouch. I have never had any problems with the wafer and pouch unsnapping.
    Now I have chosen the same type of convex floating flange wafer13903 and pouch 18122.

I called Hollister to ask what to do and the person on the line told me that I needed to make sure that I fully snap it together. Huh? 20 years at this, a teacher, I am very sure that I am snapping the wafer and pouch together correctly. In fact, I pinch it to check every time I empty, but no luck. I feel like I need to add a silicone seal around the snap just to be safe. Maybe that is my only option.

I tried Convatec for a while when I first had my surgery, but I became allergic to the adhesive, so I switched to Hollister.

Help!
    Ileo. 98'
    UC
    ot dave

Re: New Hollister product problems

Post by ot dave »