Post take down surgery complications

For discussing ostomies that are intended to be temporary, and the reversal/takedown of such ostomies.
Anyone can read. Only registered users can post.
No commercial posting allowed.

Moderator: Jimbob

Forum rules
Before posting, please read our Discussion Board Terms and Conditions and our Code of Conduct.
Debbyj

Post take down surgery complications

Post by Debbyj »

Hi I am new to this type of forum. I hope I am doing this right.
I had a take down of colostomy done in Feb 2019. I had a trip to the ER in October 2018 with a ruptured diverticulitis (did not know I had this condition), 8 days later woke up with an ostomy. I am thankful to be alive.
Like so many of you I thought and prayed about the reversal long and hard. I went through with it in Feb 2019. Three days in the hospital I went home with another large incision (but stapled up this time) and no longer pooping through a bag. So fortunate to be able to be reversed!
I have an issue with a little bit of rectal bleeding when I poop. It has slowed down and not as much, and I am taking iron supplements, but was hoping someone else has dealt with this issue. My surgeon has reassured me, BUT we all know how the human brain works sometimes.
My story is long, and journey has been enlightening I am thankful to wake up each day.
Has anyone else experienced this issue?
sassie

Re: Post take down surgery complications

Post by sassie »

I was told a small amount, like less then a table spoon was acceptable and being your Doctor also is not worried i would just keep watch and if you see more of a change then you reported be sure to call DR. again.. Best of luck..

sassie
Debbyj

Post by Debbyj »