Advice - Irrigation Failure after 20 years?

A forum devoted to "Irrigation" - a procedure that may be helpful for some people with left-sided colostomies.
Anyone can read. Only registered users can post.
No commercial posting allowed.

Moderators: Jimbob, ot dave

Forum rules
Before posting, please read our Discussion Board Terms and Conditions and our Code of Conduct.
VaAnne

Advice - Irrigation Failure after 20 years?

Post by VaAnne »

Hello - I've been a reader of this forum since my colostomy back in 1998, but this is my first time posting! I have very successfully irrigated all these years after the initial period of getting over chemo from my DX of rectal cancer. For most of that time, I've only worn a Hollister stoma cap and have irrigated every morning. Now I am panicked that irrigation has stopped working for me!

I am wondering if anyone here has had a similar situation and can advise me? There are two changes in my medical history lately. Two years ago I had polyps found on my thyroid and had the thyroid removed; no cancer thankfully. I take a thyroid pill every morning. For a while, it was fine and then I started having bouts of diarrhea; the doctor adjusted the dosage and all was well, for a while. Recently the diarrhea came back; the doctor adjusted the dosage down again but it doesn't seem to make a difference.

The other change if that I've lost 45 pounds since last fall; an intentional loss using a diet plan. It's a high fiber low fat diet, and I feel fine except for the irrigation problem:
For the last few months, when I irrigate in the morning, most of the time the water goes in and nothing comes out. Then about 12 hours later I get a return and have to put on a pouch because it's high volume but sort of oozes out over a few hours, including overnight. I've tried to irrigate the next morning but can't seem to ever clear out my colon so the same thing happens again later in the day.