urostomy pouch daily wear

A place where Military Veterans with Ostomies and Diversions can discuss items of common interest.
Anyone can read. Only registered users can post.
No commercial posting allowed.

Moderator: Jimbob

Forum rules
Before posting, please read our Discussion Board Terms and Conditions and our Code of Conduct.
mystri

urostomy pouch daily wear

Post by mystri »

Hi: I am a retired Air Force Vet and just found this board. Underwent a Cystoprostatectomy with ileal conduit in June of 2017 at MD Anderson Cancer Center. I have a relatively simple question but it is one that is most likely relative to many if not all of us. Due to previous surgeries, my Ostomy is in a place that causes my pouch to hang a little lower than what is considered "normal". Because of this, unless I can find extra long shirts to wear outside my pants, my drain plug always shows at least an inch or two below the shirt hem. Does anybody have a suggestion for a product that I can use to "tie up, tape, or clip" this plug after I fold it back an inch or two? Paper clips don't work (sharp), gator clips are bulky, tape is generally not reusable, stealth belt is great but once rolled into the belt, becomes an issue of bulk. Appreciate any advice.
Also, totally out of this subject, and just an FYI, I am in a "battle" with the VA over Agent Orange issues that we all are 99.9% sure caused the cancer that started all this. We are now at the Board of Veteran Appeals after 5 or 6 denials because bladder cancer is not a listed condition and my prostate cancer (a listed condition) was found secondary during surgery and was a different cancer also more likely than not caused by agent orange. Anybody else have this problem I would love to hear from you. again, Thanks!
JLD13

Re: urostomy pouch daily wear

Post by JLD13 »