Question about Medicare coverage of supplies

For general discussion of ostomies and continent diversions.
Anyone can read. Only registered users can post.
No commercial posting allowed.

Moderators: Bob Webtech, Jimbob, ot dave

Forum rules
Before posting, please read our Discussion Board Terms and Conditions and our Code of Conduct.
jstl

Question about Medicare coverage of supplies

Post by jstl »

Happy New Year!
I have kind of a newbie question - I'm not a newbie to ileostomy but I am a newbie to Medicare (January birthday). My question is, how do you get set up for this with one of the suppliers? I've been using SB Medical (Stomabags) for years but they don't bill Medicare so that won't work (though I guess I could file my own claim). Also, are there companies that are better to deal with than others (the reason I started with Stomabags is that I had some issues with one of the big companies years ago)? Thanks for any info that comes my way!
Mara

Re: Question about Medicare coverage of supplies

Post by Mara »

I've always had suppliers that bill Medicare so not sure how to do it directly so maybe the Medicare website has instructions on how to file your own claim.....so you don't have to give up a company you like....
Ileostomy due to UC - 50 odd years
Mara

Post by Mara »

fyi, I have another thought about your issue - it really depends on what your current supplier will charge you.....in comparison to what Medicare pays. Maybe you can look into that so you won't have an unpleasant surprise...

For example I just checked my recent Medicare claim - my supplier charges approximately twice as much as Medicare approves....but no one pays the excess charge....
Mysticobra

Post by Mysticobra »

Oh Ya. Hate those surprise bills.
I just got set up with a new supplier.
Reason bring they quit carrying two items I use.
Byram.
So I went to 180 medical and they set it all up.
I didnt have to do anything.
She said when I'm ready to order.
Just order.